N.J. coronavirus quarantine travel list shrinks for 1st time. Update includes 31 states and territories.

New Jersey dropped five states from its coronavirus quarantine travel advisory and didn’t add any

New Jersey dropped five states from its coronavirus quarantine travel advisory and didn’t add any new ones to the list Tuesday, leaving the total number of states and territories considered COVID-19 hotspots to 31.

Alaska, Arizona, Delaware, Maryland and Montana were removed from the list of states that requires a self-quarantine that New Jersey joined with New York and Connecticut. It’s the first time in eight weeks that a state or territory hasn’t been added to the travel advisory.

People traveling from those locations — including residents returning home — are being asked to voluntarily self-quarantine for 14 days and to seek a coronavirus test after arriving.

“The self-quarantine is voluntary, but compliance is expected,” reads guidance on New Jersey’s website for the travel advisory. New York has threatened fines for non-compliance, but New Jersey has not taken that approach.

The quarantine applies to any state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average. People traveling for business are exempt. New York health officials run the calculations and publish the list weekly.

CORONAVIRUS RESOURCES: Live map tracker 5/8 Newsletter 5/8 Homepage

The travel advisory now includes:

Alabama (added 6/24/20)

Arkansas (added 6/24/20)

California (added 6/30/20)

Florida (added 6/24/20)

Georgia (added 6/30/20)

Hawaii (added 8/11/20)

Idaho (added 6/30/20)

Iowa (added 6/30/20)

Illinois (added 7/28/20)

Indiana (added 7/21/20)

Kansas (added 7/7/20)

Kentucky (added 7/28/20)

Louisiana (added 6/30/20)

Minnesota (re-added 7/28/20)

Mississippi (added 6/30/20)

Missouri (added 7/21/20)

Nebraska (added 7/21/20)

Nevada (added 6/30/20)

North Carolina (added 6/24/20)

North Dakota (added 7/21/20)

Oklahoma (added 7/7/20)

Puerto Rico (added 7/28/20)

South Carolina (added 6/24/20)

South Dakota (added 8/11/20)

Tennessee (added 6/30/20)

Texas (added 6/24/20)

Utah (added 6/24/20)

Virginia (added 7/21/20)

Virgin Islands (added 8/11/20)

Wisconsin (added 7/14/20)

Prior to being dropped, Alaska was re-added to the list on Aug. 18; Arizona had been on the list since June 24; Delaware was re-added on August 18; Maryland and Montana were both on the list since July 21.

People flying into New Jersey are asked to fill out an electronic survey with information about their hometown, where they traveled from, and their destination. The information is then sent to county health departments, who will call the traveler to request them to self-quarantine and explain where they can be tested for COVID-19.

Travelers can access the survey by texting “NJ Travel” to 898211, visiting covid19.nj.gov/njtravel, or scanning a QR code on posters at airports.

New Jersey health officials reported 225 new coronavirus cases on Monday and three additional deaths as the rate of transmission, which indicates whether the outbreak is expanding or declining, fell for the third consecutive day and remains below the key benchmark of 1.

The latest update brings the Garden State death toll to 15,949 with 14,120 confirmed and 1,829 probable fatalities — second highest in the United States. The total number of positive coronavirus tests climbed to 189,719, eighth in the nation.

Our journalism needs your support. Please subscribe today to NJ.com.

Matt Arco may be reached at [email protected]. Tell us your coronavirus story or send a tip here.


©2020 NJ Advance Media Group, Edison, N.J.

Visit NJ Advance Media Group, Edison, N.J. at www.nj.com

Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC.

Continue Reading

Source Article